MUST READ
What is your desired salary?
This is the question so many job seekers dread, but realistically your potential employer needs to know your salary requirement. Most employers have a budgeted salary range and don’t want to waste their time setting up interviews for individuals who are not within their range.

You must also review your bills and budget, and know what dollar amount is acceptable. This is especially true, if you are changing careers or willing to take a step back on compensation. You must know that the step back will still allow you to pay your bills.

If you are asked this question online or on an application form, list your current salary and add a couple plus signs (++) after the dollar amount (if the system allows you to do so). When you’re asked about the plus signs, you explain those represent your entire compensation package, not just base salary.

If you are asked this question during an interview, ask them a question “Can you tell me what salary range is budgeted for this position?” Then, if this response if true say “I’m definitely within that range.” If they don’t share their salary range, state your current salary (or last salary) and explain you are looking for advancement, but would consider the entire package. When asked desired salary on an application form, the best response is to write open or negotiable.

Hiring authorities don’t know the exact amount they will offer. Their offer depends on how well you interview. If they determine you will hit the ground running with little or no training, their salary offer often increases. However, if they determine there will be a learning curve, often the offer is lowered.

You don’t want to ask for too much and get screened out for $.10 an hour. However, you also don’t want to leave money on the table by asking for too little. This is never a comfortable conversation, but you must know what offers you would accept and when you would walk away. You must be prepared because you WILL be asked this question.

FREE JOB SEEKER TRAINING WEBINARS
Ignite Your Job Search with Confidence
Wednesday, March 29th @ 1:00 pm EST (10:00 am PST, 11:00 am MST, 12:00 pm CST)

Re-THINK YOU! It is time to re-invent your self-image, expand your self-concept, and master self-confidence. No matter what you are doing in life, it’s important to know how to effectively manage yourself on all levels physically, mentally, and emotionally.

If you feel like job searching is a defeating experience, you must make it a priority to join us. During this webinar, you will have the opportunity to:

  • Shift your perspective to master self-confidence
  • Discover how easy you can change your self-image
  • Learn strategies to help you powerfully manage emotions
  • Build and strengthen your attitude – Be a Yes to You!
  • How to access the courage and power already in you

Instead of defeat, you will see that you are already a WINNER!

Eliminate Time Wasters During Your Search
Tuesday, April 4th @ 2:00 pm EST (11:00 am PST, 12:00 pm MST, 1:00 pm CST)

It is easy to get into a routine when you are conducting your job search. In fact, most people are pretty much on automatic pilot their entire life. In a job search you must become more aware of the actions you take and the decisions you make. During this session, we will discuss the following:

  • Top ten time wasters during a job search
  • Provide you with solutions!

The Job Market Changes and So Must You
Monday, April 10th @ 12:00 pm EST (9:00 am PST, 10:00 am MST, 11:00 am CST)

The job market consistently changes and as it does, you must change the way you conduct your job search. During this session, we will discuss the following:

  • Changes happening in the job market
  • Ten changes that will enhance your job search

Get Hired By Asking The Right Questions During Your Interview
Friday, April 21st @ 11:00 am EST (8:00 am PST, 9:00 am MST, 10:00 am CST)

Have you ever left an interview knowing you were not able to stress your greatest strengths or accomplishments? Today you will learn how the questions you ask can prevent that from ever happening again. During this session, we will discuss the following:

  • Uncover priorities of the interviewer
  • Sell yourself
  • Show your level of interest and confidence in your ability to do the job
  • Determine the next step

How to Re-THINK Your Job Search – GETTING UNSTUCK
Thursday, April 27th @ 2:00 pm EST (11:00 am PST, 12:00 pm MST, 1:00 pm CST)

Learn how you can use simple systems that allow you to be effective in your job search using a proven process that can turn frustrations and obstacles into opportunities – on the spot!

YOU ARE AN UNSTOPPABLE SOURCE OF POWER IN YOUR LIFE?  GET FOCUSED so you get back to work FAST!  ACCOUNTABILITY MEASURES can be put into place immediately!  REACHING for EXCELLENCE to be the BEST YOU!

Here is an opportunity to have “huge breakthroughs” in your job search.  There is so much happening in our lives today, that it doesn’t take much to knock us off-track. This webinar is uplifting and empowering!

Register for the Training in our Career Portal by clicking on the WEBINAR Tab. Then clicking on the event and then register by clicking the webinar registration link for each event listed.

One response to “What is your desired salary?”

  1. While employers have no business knowing your last salary, they have a right to know whether your desired salary fits the range they want to spend.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *